Additional South Dakota Communities

  • Trail Ridge Retirement Community

      Read More

    Sioux Falls, SD

    Age Restricted, Active Adult, Maintenance Free, Retirement Communities



  • Elkhorn Ridge Golf Estates

      Read More

    Spearfish, SD

    Age Targeted, Active Lifestyle, Golf Course, Mountain Living, New Build Homes

    Homesites, Lots

    New and Resale Homes

South Dakota is a U.S. state in the Midwestern region of the United States. It is named after the Lakota and Dakota Sioux Native American tribes, who compose a large portion of the population and historically dominated the territory. South Dakota is the seventeenth largest by area, but the fifth smallest by population and the 5th least densely populated of the 50 United States. As the southern part of the former Dakota Territory, South Dakota became a state on November 2, 1889, simultaneously with North Dakota. Pierre is the state capital and Sioux Falls, with a population of about 183,200, is South Dakota's largest city.

South Dakota is bordered by the states of North Dakota (to the north), Minnesota (to the east), Iowa (to the southeast), Nebraska (to the south), Wyoming (to the west), and Montana (to the northwest). The state is bisected by the Missouri River, dividing South Dakota into two geographically and socially distinct halves, known to residents as "East River" and "West River".